Skip to content

CompTIA’s New Board of Directors

May 9, 2013

CompTIA, the non-profit association for the IT industry announced the members of its board of directors for 2013-14.

The new board, which includes a new chairman and five new directors took office earlier this month.

MJ Shoer, president and virtual CTO of Jenaly Technology Group, is chairman of CompTIA’s board of directors for 2013-14. An active member in the association for more than a decade, Shoer served a previous term as a CompTIA director and board secretary and has held other membership leadership positions in the association.

“The pace of innovation continues unabated, changing the way we live, work and interact,” Shoer said. “This presents the IT industry with both great opportunities and great challenges. I’m confident that our board, in cooperation with CompTIA’s executive team, will address these challenges head-on and chart a course that elevates the industry to even greater heights.”

“MJ Shoer has filled many roles in the IT channel with distinction – small business owner, technology entrepreneur, industry advocate and compassionate philanthropist,” said Todd Thibodeaux, president and CEO of CompTIA. “His commitment to our industry is unparalleled and his leadership as chairman will be invaluable.”

For the second consecutive year Bob Stegner, senior vice president, marketing, SYNNEX is vice chairman. Stegner has more than 23 years of management, marketing and sales experience in the IT industry.

Mike Brogan, president and CEO of Erb’s Technology Solutions, chairs the board’s Audit Committee. Brogan’s career with Erb’s dates to 1978 and he has held a number of sales and executive positions with the company.

Newly elected to the CompTIA Board of Directors are:

• Amy Kardel, co-owner and COO, Clever Ducks, the founder of two technology start-ups and with 20 years of industry experience.
• Quy “Q” Nguyen, founder and CEO, Allyance Communications, Inc.,a company now in its 11th year in business.
• Mont Phelps, president and CEO, NWN Corp., a senior executive and entrepreneur in the IT industry.
• Aaron Woods, director, North American Resellers Service Relationship and Partner Programs, Xerox Corp., who has served in various management roles in the IT services industry for more than 25 years.

Continuing on the board as immediate past chair is Robert Godgart, founder and CEO of ChannelEyes and founder and former CEO of Autotask. Godgart served two years as chairman of the CompTIA board.

Also returning to the board in 2013 are Don Bentz, co-founder, Preferred IT Group; Paul Cronin, senior vice president, Atrion Networking Corp.; Janet Schijns, vice president, business solution, Verizon Wireless; Frank Vitagliano, vice president, channel sales, Dell; and Dan Wensley, vice president, partner development and marketing, Level Platforms.

As president of CompTIA, Thibodeaux is also a voting member of the board of directors. Two other CompTIA executives hold non-voting board officer posts. Dan Liutikas, CompTIA’s chief legal officer, serves as board secretary; and David Sommer, CFO, is board treasurer.


From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: